· 

My child 16



 Chapter 16. This braggart was more romantic than I thought 


****


"I wonder where my bride-to-be has run off to."


A smile appeared on Bordeaux's face as he said this. He seemed to take pleasure in the fact that his bride had run away.


‘There's no way this strange, perverted man is the prince.’


It couldn’t be.


Even for the future of the Remzi Empire.


"The wedding fell apart, the bride ran away, why are you so amused, didn't you like her?"


"I like her."


Bordeaux said once more, as if for emphasis.


"I've liked her for a very long time. I don't think I could like anyone else but her."


"...."


For the first time, I felt sincere with him, and I was speechless.


He meant it when he said he liked her.


"It doesn't matter if she ran away, I'll see her again."


"Do you know where she ran off to?"


"If you want to know, there's a way to find out."


I hit Bordeaux right on the head.


"Didn't she run away because she didn't like you?"


Otherwise, she wouldn't have run away before the wedding, no matter how much she hated the groom...................


It was then that Bordeaux's body, which had been facing forward, shifted toward me.


He poked me above the shoulder, forcing me to look at him.


"Renee, look at me. I'm handsome."


It was a strange question, but he wasn't wrong, so I nodded.



Besides, I wasn't a navel-gazer enough not to admit that he was handsome.


"And I'm also a businessman who makes good money."


"You say you are, and I'll give you the benefit of the doubt."


Bordeaux's eyes narrowed at the nuance of my disbelief.


But he didn't dwell on it and continued.


"Why would she hate me when I'm perfect?"


I cut to the chase again.


"But you're missing something."


He cocked his head as if to ask what that was.


I responded.


"Humanity."


"....!"


Stunned, Bordeaux blinked in disbelief.


I didn't bother to calm him down, but continued.


"If you keep lying to me, you're going to grow a long nose."


"Look, honey, no, Renee. I think you misunderstood something..................."


When I just stared at him, Bordeaux gave me a confused look and grunted.


He looked like he had something he wanted to confess, but wasn't sure if he should tell me.



"Oh, I don't know. Anyway, the point is this: Renee didn't like my lack of humanity, did you?"


I wasn't sure why that was important. But the way he looked at me, his dark eyes were serious. He seemed like he was trying to impress me. 



"So far, so bad..............."


"..."


Bordeaux looked visibly disappointed. All of his bravado and bluster were gone. I continued in a patronizing tone. 



"Maybe if you play the servant well enough, you'll grow on me."


Bordeaux smirked, as if to say, "When have I ever looked so dead?” The corners of his mouth almost touched his ears.


"Of course, my master. I am your loyal servant. If my master wants my body, I'm willing to burn this night."


I stomped hard on his knobby boot.


Then he gave a sickening "Ouch!" and stamped his foot several times in place.


"You've gone too far, moderate it."


"I have a good body.................."


"I'm not curious."


"I'm good at anything."


"Save that for your runaway bride."


I didn't know where to stand with Bordeaux. I thought he was crossing the line, but it seemed to bother him. Strange man, anyway.


Bordeaux pouted his lips in annoyance and pretended he hadn't heard me.



"I like the night air. I don't want to go into my cabin. I'll stay on deck all night."


"..."


"What about Renee?"


"I'm tired, I'll go in first. You can spend the night on deck, it's up to you."


I turned around without hearing Bordeaux's answer. It was not the answer he had hoped for.


Bordeaux, left alone, called out against my back after two seconds.


"Sleep, wait, honey, come with me, I won't put carrots in the beef stew next time!" Bordeaux's shout made the men giggle.


They were enjoying our skit, which continued on deck.


I couldn't help but think the same thing over and over again.


‘..............That asshole.’


***


Luckily, Bordeaux didn't follow me into my room.


Instead, I just stood at my cabin door and imagined he would say something along the lines of, "Honey, my cabin is across the hall from yours, so you can sneak up on me later at night.l”


I didn't answer him because it didn't make sense.


It was weird that his room was across from mine.


I didn’t know how that happened.


Inside the tiny room, I lay down in my robe.


I had never slept in such a small bed since I was born a Princess.


But I didn't want to bemoan my lot.


On the other hand, I felt most at home here, even if it was a small place. I quickly fell asleep in this strange place.


Come to think of it, I hadn't slept well lately.


Eight out of ten nights I had been sleepless lately, consumed with anxiety and worry.


What if I never got Eddie, what if my father caught me fleeing to the Remzi Empire?


What if I ended up living a life I didn’t want again............


I had been plagued by anxiety, and I had barely fallen asleep by the time dawn breaks.


But this night was different from the others.


I was convinced that I was carrying Eddie, and that he was safe on the ship to the Remzi Empire.


It made my heart feel so light.


I straightened my pillow and closed my eyes.


As expected, sleep came quickly. It was a deep, dreamless sleep.


I didn’t know how long I slept like that. Suddenly I was awakened by a loud knock on my door.


!!!


Who the hell was knocking on my door so hard? The voice of the person who interrupted my sleep was soon heard.


"How are you, honey? Is something wrong?"


It was the madman, no, Bordeaux.


Instead of answering, I stood up and stretched. I was in great shape after a good night's sleep.


In the meantime, the maniac was frantically searching for me.


"Honey. Please, say a word. "It's already five in the afternoon."


'What, five in the afternoon?'


How could I have been asleep so long?


"I'm so worried that something's wrong with you because you eat three big meals a day and I haven't heard from you since 5:00 p.m........"


Bordeaux's fake theater was so detailed.


I finally opened the door, not wanting to disturb the neighboring rooms.


Of course, I had covered my face with the hood of my robe.


The door opened and Bordeaux called out to me.


"Honey!"


I put my index finger over my lips, warning him.


"Be quiet, it's disturbing."


"But you haven't come out of your room much, so I was worried."


For someone who had only just woken up, my answer came out pretty harsh.


"Who are you to worry about me?"


I didn't like Bordeaux's sincerity about what we were, or about anything to do with me.


Bordeaux's lips curled into a smirk at my outburst.


"I'm your servant. You're my master. I have every right to be worried."


"You're so weird."


"Isn’t it better to be a weirdo than a con man?"


I gave him the answer.


"No, neither of them."


I could see the corners of Bordeaux's mouth twitch downward, but I wasn't about to backtrack.


***


Bordeaux hovered around me the entire time I was eating my first meal at the restaurant.


He didn't interrupt my meal or say anything strange, so I didn't push him away.


It was better to have a talking dog around than to be alone.


I had just put down the cutlery I was holding when he grabbed the hem of my robe as if waiting for me.


"Come on, let's go out on deck."


There was a longing in his eyes. I nodded, feeling like an owner who couldn't turn away a puppy begging for a walk. When I stepped out onto the deck, I was greeted with an incredible view. 


A crimson sunset was setting on the blue sea. I couldn't take my eyes off the beautiful, ethereal color of the sea. I could barely contain the exclamations that came out of my mouth.



"Oh..."



My mind was captivated by the reddish foreground.


The more I gazed at the beautiful colors, the more I felt strangely moved.


I slowly stroked my belly out of habit. I couldn't wait to show Eddie this spectacular sight.


"This is the most beautiful time of the day. I wanted to show Renee the sunset."


Bordeaux............... This braggart was more romantic than I thought.



***


To donate for extra chapters for my series or to tip me visit my personal kofi page 

https://ko-fi.com/doradora

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Romy (Monday, 13 May 2024 00:48)

    Ok Bordeaux seems promising.